Bajra Roti/Bajra Bhakri (Millet flour flatbread)

bajra 2

Bajra roti are flat breads made with millet flour. It is getting increasingly popular nowadays due to its gluten free nature. Bajra roti are easy to make and tastes good with any dishes. They are usually eaten in winters or cold weather. Bajra roti is a legacy of Rajhasthan, India. Thickly rolled bajra rotis are cooked over “kanda” (cow dung cakes) in the villages. That is the authentic way of preparing them because it imparts a smoked flavour to the rotis.

images

Bajra roti

Ingredients

2 cups millet flour/bajra

salt to taste

hot water for kneading

bajra

Method

Combine the bajra flour and salt. Add enough hot water to make a soft dough. Knead for 3 mins.

Rest the dough for 10-15 mins. Knead for a minute.

Divide the dough into equal portions.Roll out each portion into a thin roti.

Generously dust the rotis with dry bajra flour to make the rolling easier or you can also roll it out with your hand.

Cook the rotis on a hot pan till both sides are light brown in colour.

Brush one side of the roti with melted ghee or white butter and serve hot.

bajra 1

17 thoughts on “Bajra Roti/Bajra Bhakri (Millet flour flatbread)

  1. wow, this looks so good. I’ve tried with homemade flour from bajra and could not get the roti to hold together. I’ll buy the flour you’ve mentioned next time and try again…

    • Thanks for the lovely comment. This is my 2nd-3rd time making them but still i feel i am not that perfect. I want to make them by using hand, still practicing on that part.

    • I can do small ones by using hand but if i had to do bigger ones i am not that successful but still practice makes man perfect. I told my mom to give me a class online πŸ™‚ but i think i have to see her make these roti’s face to face and the best part is whenever she makes bajra, makai roti by hand it always puffs up which is quite rare thing to do. The golden rule she told me is that you have to knead the dough a lot to make it really soft and it also depends on the freshness of the flour as well.

  2. Oh my God, Divya. You are like my fairy godmother! I’ve been planning to make these for weeks! I usually do wheat+bajra 50:50 rotis but I think I’m fed up with wheat and want to try fully bajra ones and fully jowar ones too.. Now that I’ve seen you do it, I feel like I can take a shot too! πŸ™‚ Thanks for being such an inspiration!

  3. Pingback: In my kitchen of #cookingfail | The Odd Pantry

Leave a Reply

